PhilPop 2018 Announces Top 10 Finalists

by - October 21, 2018

Philpop, the premier songwriting competition in the country, has continued to provide a sustainable platform for amateur and professional composers to showcase exceptional songs from various genres and styles through the years.

Serving as the breeding ground to artists who aren't afraid to challenge songwriting tropes and reflect their truth, the annual music competition has produced some of the most commercially successful and critically acclaimed recordings of the last five years with songs from "Dati" to "Di Na Muli."

For 2018, PhilPop marks a landmark moment in songwriting history as it opened its doors to entries written in different languages, spanning across regions and cities outside of Metro Manila. From thousands of entries, it was carefully handpicked to a roster of Top 30 semi-finalists announced weeks ago. Finally, last October 17, 2018 PhilPop has narrowed the selection to top 10.

Revealed during the late primetime spot of the Pinoy Playlist Festival at the Sunlife Amphitheater in Bonifacio Global City, Taguig, the finalists are judged according to the following criteria: 50% judges choice, 25% online streaming, and 25% Smart's People Choice through SMS and Twitter's conversational ad.

In no particular order, here are the top 10 finalists:

"Ako Ako" composed by Jeriko Buenafe and interpreted by Feel Day feat. Hans Dimayuga;
"Di Ko Man" composed by Ferdinand Aragon and interpreted by Ferdinand Aragon himself;
"Isang Gabing Pag-Ibig" composed by Carlo Angelo David and interpreted by Jex De Castro;
"Kariton" composed by Philip Arvin Jarilla and interpreted by Acapellago;
"Laon Ako" composed by Elmar Bolaño and Donel Trasporto Tigbauan and interpreted by Kakai Bautista;
"Loco De Amor!" composed by Ed Miraflor Jr. and interpreted by BennyBunnyBand;
"Nanay Tatay" composed by Chud Festejo and interpreted by Chud Festejo;
"Pilipit" composed by Sean Gabriel Cedro and John Ray Reodique and interpreted by Julian Trono;
"Tama Na" composed by Michael Rodriguez and Jeanne Columbine Rodriguez and interpreted by Katrina Velarde;
"Yun Tayo" composed by Donnalyn Onilongo and interpreted by Gracenote

Diverse Selection

This year's finalists offer a diverse crop of entries that represent different musical styles, ranging from contemporary hit music to folk, latin-flavored pop to R&B/soul, rock to easy listening music. Instead of focusing on personalities, the latest edition banks on envelope-pushing compositions that have the potential to penetrate the local music market and create a lasting impression to the Filipino audience.

The top 10 finalists also managed to showcase their songs in a medley. Last year winner’s Ben & Ben made an appearance to wish luck to the ten finalists. Also during the final reveal, Festival curator Mr. Moi Ortiz awarded PhilPop Foundation headed by PhilPop Board Member and 2018 Festival Chairman Mr. Ryan Cayabyab, PhilPop Vice President Patrick C. Gregorio, and PhilPop Executive Director Dinah Remolacio a Certificate of Appreciation for continuously pushing the boundaries of Filipino music through regional inclusivity and for giving voice to homegrown talents who have the potential to make it big in the local music industry.

On December 2, 2018, the top 10 finalists, together with the interpreters, will showcase their original songs in the PhilPop Festival Finals Night that will be held at Capitol Commons in Pasig City.

PhilPop 2018 is an initiative of the PhilPop Music Foundation, chaired by Mr. Manny V. Pangilinan. This year's PhilPop is co-presented by MAYNILAD, and is supported by MERALCO (major sponsor), Mid Atlantic Foundation for Asian Artists, Inc., NYXSYS (official OOH partner), SMART, VIVA Records (official record label partner), Ortigas and Co., PETA (production partner), Coke Studio, NCCA, OPM, TAGA-ALOG, Rappler (official media partner), Pinnacle (official agency integrator partner), and Gabi Na Naman Productions (official promo partner.

NB. All photos are mine.

You May Also Like